Virginia REALTORS® is excited to announce its esteemed 2018 awardees. The association will conduct its annual awards ceremony in conjunction with ACCELERATE 2018: The Virginia REALTORS® Annual Convention on Wednesday, September 26, 2018, at the Hilton Norfolk: The Main. The ceremony will celebrate excellence in various areas of real estate, including property management, brokerage, education, and other business achievements, along with notable community contributions.


Virginia REALTOR® Hall of Fame: Honors Virginia REALTORS® who have made extraordinary and

distinguished contributions to the real estate profession and markets in Virginia over a period of twenty

five years or more. Induction to the Hall of Fame is considered Virginia REALTORS®’ principal career


  • Carol Clarke of the Charlottesville Area Association of REALTORS®
  • Virginia Rose of the Richmond Association of REALTORS® (*This award was given posthumously.)
  • J.P. Vaughan of the Lynchburg Association of REALTORS®


Code of Ethics Leadership Award: Honors a REALTOR® who exhibits knowledge of the REALTOR® Code

of Ethics, arbitration and/or professional standards, and who shares such expertise unequivocally.

  • Kathryn Jones of the Dulles Area Association of REALTORS®


Virginia Manager of the Year, Sponsored by Pearl Insurance: Presented to a broker/manager

recognizing individual achievement over a ten‐year period.

  • Jeanne Hockaday of the Chesapeake Bay & Rivers Association of REALTORS®


George Rink Outstanding Real Estate Educator Award: Recognizes the Virginia REALTOR® educator who has made the most significant contributions to and exemplified leadership and service in real estate

education at either the state or local level.

  • Libby Gatewood of the Richmond Association of REALTORS®


The Ann Swearingen Property Manager of the Year Award: Presented to the industry’s highest achieving association members engaged in the field of residential property management.

  • Steven Stein of the Harrisonburg/Rockingham Association of REALTORS®


Virginia Housing Development Authority Service to Virginia Award: Recognizes the Virginia

REALTOR® who has made the most significant difference in promoting affordable homeownership to

first‐time homebuyers during the year or whose life work merits recognition and celebration of this


  • Greg Slater of the Charlottesville Area Association of REALTORS®